top of page
Search

When you get a new job, how to tell your boss you're leaving?

When this happened to me, I worried how my boss would react, and how I could manage that. Harvard Business Review suggests you prepare for the following four reactions, which would have helped me as my boss did the first three of these in a big way - and sadly not the fourth!

If your boss...


1. Gets angry: Be gracious and give them space to process it. Eg, “I know this is a surprise, and I've been grateful for your support in this role."


2. Criticizes your future employer: Reiterate your decision: “I appreciate your concern, and I’ve decided this is the best course for me.”


3. Guilt-trips you: Talk about what attracts you about the new role rather than what you're leaving behind. Commit to a smooth transition.


4. Counteroffers: Decide in advance if this is something you’ll consider, or not. If the latter, say, “I appreciate you asking. I’ve thought a lot and decided that moving on is the right step for me.” If it’s the former, start a conversation about what new terms would make you open to staying.

What experiences have you had when handing in your notice, and what helped you manage it?

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page